Announcing the 24th Annual Sally Ordway Irvine Award Recipients

Ordway 10/18/16

The Sally Awards honor extraordinary achievements in arts access, commitment, education, initiative and vision

The Ordway is excited to announce the recipients of the 24th annual Sally Ordway Irvine Awards. The prestigious Sally Awards recognize and honor individuals and institutions that strengthen and enrich the state through their commitment to the arts and arts education. Winners were announced during a

The 24th annual Sally Award winners are:


COMMITMENT: Steven Schmidt

EDUCATION: Reverend Carl Walker and Grant West


VISION: Rebecca Moran Cusick & Los Alegres Bailadores

The Sally Awards are a living tribute to the vision of Sally Ordway Irvine, who mobilized the community to support her dream of building a new performing arts center in downtown Saint Paul. In 1986, a year after the Ordway opened, Sally was honored with a “First Trust Award” for her vision, innovation and commitment to the arts and the community. In 1992, the award was reinstated and renamed the Sally Ordway Irvine Award.

The awards are presented annually to honor individuals and organizations that strengthen and enrich Minnesota with their commitment to the arts, arts education and arts access. Throughout the past two decades, the Ordway has honored more than 80 outstanding artists, administrators, volunteers and organizations through these awards.

“When I came to the Twin Cities earlier this year, I was so impressed by the abundance of support this community has for the arts. I’m thrilled that the Ordway is able to recognize and honor leading advocates and organizations that have made a difference in their communities through the arts,” said Ordway President and CEO Jamie Grant.

The 24th annual Sally Award recipients were selected by a committee consisting of Ordway representatives, past Sally Award recipients, Minnesota State Arts Board representatives, media representatives and other leaders from the Minnesota arts and cultural community. The 24th annual Sally Awards program is supported by the Minnesota State Arts Board.

Click here to learn more about this year’s winners. Or, click here to submit a nomination for the 25th annual Sally Awards.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *