James Rocco recognized at Broadway Salutes

Ryan Jones, Ordway 9/11/13

The Ordway’s Vice President of Programming and Producing Artistic Director, James Rocco, is being recognized for his 25 years of work in theater.

The Stage Directors and Choreographers Society (SDC) congratulates Rob Ashford, Karen Azenberg, Jeff Calhoun, Sheldon Epps, Joey McKneely, Gregory Mosher, James Rocco and Susan Stroman who are new inductees at 25 years, Jodi Moccia, Roger Rees and Chet Walker who are new inductees at 35 years and Liza Gennaro and Lynne Meadow who are moving from 25 years to 35 years.

On Tuesday, September 24, 2013, The Broadway League and The Coalition of Broadway Unions and Guilds (COBUG) will present the fifth annual Broadway Salutes, a public celebration honoring the countless professionals who have made Broadway great for decades. In this industry-wide celebration, theater professionals will receive special recognition for having worked 25, 35, and 50 years in their respective theatrical craft. This year’s event, hosted by Emmy Award winning actress Holland Taylor (a recent Tony Award nominee for her role in Ann) and directed by Marc Bruni (Old Jews Telling Jokes), will take place in the Times Square Visitor Center (1560 Broadway), located in the heart of the theatre district on Seventh Avenue between 46th and 47th Streets. The event will begin at 3:30PM with red carpet arrivals, and the public ceremony begins at 4:00PM. Special guests and other participants will be announced shortly.

Broadway Salutes will honor all 2013 inductees. Special recognition will be given to a 25 year inductee, a 35 year inductee, and a 50 year inductee, all to be announced. The event begins at 3:30 with the red carpet and the public ceremony will begin at 4:00PM in the Times Square Visitor Center, located in the heart of the theatre district on Seventh Avenue between 46th and 47th Streets.

Broadway Salutes honors a wide-range of theatre professions – including stagehands, actors, producers, managers, theater owners, press agents, ushers, agents, make-up artists, dressers, designers, directors, choreographers, musicians, casting agents and more – who have dedicated their careers to the Broadway industry.

Broadway contributes 11 billion dollars to NYC’s economy, supports an estimated 86,000 full-time equivalent jobs and generates $550 Million in NYC taxes.

“Broadway Salutes is an occasion for our community to acknowledge the hundreds of people who work on Broadway, behind the scenes and on stage. On this day, the artists as well as the crafts people and technicians, artist representatives and a myriad of other persons who are never seen by the audience will be honored for their remarkable talent. The dedication of these hard working individuals supports the industry that brings in billions of dollars to New York City annually and provides countless hours of enjoyment for New Yorkers and tourists alike.” – Carl Muler, Broadway Salutes co-chairperson

“Every year, Broadway Salutes brings the community together to honor our colleagues for their many years of service to the theatre industry. Broadway jobs are an essential part of New York City’s economy, and we are looking forward to recognizing these artists, craftsmen and women, and other professionals who do this work daily. It’s about the stories from these individuals who work in the wings of the Broadway theatres, and don’t usually get to take a bow. It’s a way to say ‘thank you’ to these fine New Yorkers doing extraordinary work that defines our city.” – Florie Seery, Broadway Salutes co-chairperson

The Broadway Salutes committee is comprised of: Chris Bennett (AEA), Debbie Bisno (Producer), Marc Bruni (Director), Tony DePaulo (IA), Jessica Jenen (Producer), Nick Kaledin (ATPAM), Aaron Lustbader (General Manager), Caitlin McConnell (Local USA 829), ElizaBeth Miller (SDC), Carl Muler (Local USA 829), Lawrence Paone (Local 751), Laura Penn (SDC), Eva Price (Producer), Paige Price (AEA), Danielle Saks (General Manager), Mark Schweppe (Shubert Organization), Florie Seery(General Manager), John Seid (Local 306), Charlotte St. Martin (The Broadway League), David Turner (General Manager), Pat White (Local 764), Connie Wilkin (General Manager), Charlotte Wilcox (General Manager), and Barbara Wolkoff (SDC).

LIKE Broadway Salutes on Facebook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *