Ordway Seeking Nominations for 2014 Sally Awards

Jessica Petrie, Ordway 12/30/14

23rd annual Sally Ordway Irvine Awards to celebrate and recognize extraordinary achievements in the arts

ST. PAUL, Minn. (Dec. 29, 2014) — The Ordway Center for the Performing Arts announced today that nominations for the 2014 Sally Ordway Irvine Awards are now open and will be accepted through January 31, 2015. The prestigious Sally Awards, now in their 23rd year, provide an opportunity to recognize and honor extraordinary achievements in the arts throughout Minn.

“Minnesota has one of the richest, most vibrant arts communities in the entire country; not just in the metro area but throughout all of Greater Minnesota as well,” said Patricia A. Mitchell, Ordway’s president and CEO. “The Sally Awards is our way of recognizing the efforts and achievements of those who are committed to enriching their communities and instilling a passion for the arts in others.”

Each year, one individual or organization is honored in each of the following five categories: Vision, Initiative, Commitment, Education and Arts Access. Last year’s winners were MacPhail Online (Vision), Kristine Sorensen (Initiative), James Samuel “Cornbread” Harris Sr. (Commitment), Lyz Jaakola (Education) and Franconia Sculpture Park (Arts Access).

Nominations for the 2014 awards are being accepted through January 31, 2015. Individuals and organizations from any artistic or cultural field are eligible, as long as their work took place within the state of Minn. Nominees may be artists, professional administrators, volunteers, philanthropists or organizations.

After all entries have been received, a selection committee will review the nominations and select the five award winners, who will be honored at the Sally Awards ceremony at the Ordway on June 22, 2015.

Nomination forms and additional information are available online at www.ordway.org/sallyawards.

The Sally Awards are funded, in part, by the Minnesota State Arts Board through the arts and cultural heritage fund as appropriated by the Minnesota State Legislature with funds from the Legacy Amendment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *