Sunday, March 4, 2018

Minnesota Dance and the Ecstasies of Influences (Part 15: Dance + Social Justice)

Community Events & Programs, Master Classes & Workshops, Drake Room, Ordway

2:00 – 4:00PM
Free | Open to the public

To RSVP, call 651.282.3115 or reserve your spot online.


With speakers Karen Charles, Ananya Chatterjea, Deneane Richburg, Patrick Scully, and Arwen Wilder

It is no coincidence that dance and politics both create movements. Intersecting bodies and social concerns have always brought voice to marginalized communities and causes. Local dance makers create awareness and calls for actions through performances filled with dance and humanity. Find out what motivates their desires to make a difference and insert politics into their art.

Of Jonathan Lethem’s The Ecstasy of Influence, the New York Times critic summarizes the book’s central trope: “For an artist, influence is everything.”

Curated by Michèle Steinwald and launched in fall of 2014 at The Cowles Center for Dance & the Performing Arts, this participatory lecture and panel series focuses on individuals’ contributions to our local dance communities. Choreographer Kristin Van Loon documents each event by mapping the conversation live while speakers share their influences. Everyone in attendance is invited to add his or her stories for the mapping process. This series is a collective remembering and a way to draw on our pasts as a means to envision our futures.

The 2017-2018 Minnesota Dance and the Ecstasies of Influences series, curated by Michèle Steinwald, is presented by Ordway in partnership with The Cowles Center for Dance & the Performing Arts and the Performing Arts Archives at the University of Minnesota Libraries.

Full list of themes, speakers, dates and videos:

Wheelchair Accessibility Icon

For more information about Ordway community programs, to request ASL Interpretation or other accommodations, please contact: Jenea Rewertz-Targui

651.282.3017 •

Pictured above: A group portrait of the panelists and moderator for the event.
Back row from left to right: Deneane Richburg and Michele Stèinwald.
Front row from left to right: Karen Charles, Patrick Scully, Arwen Wilder, and Ananya Chatterjea.